Sleep is the Jesus of my life…

Last night I took an Ambien around 8:30. I fell asleep at 9:30, and didn’t move or wake once until 7 this morning. I needed it SO much. One of the major components in The Infertility Cure (here and henceforth referred to as TIC), is making lifestyle changes. Giving up booze isn’t exactly a party, but I’m doing pretty well. Getting a good night’s sleep is one of the things I’m struggling the most with. I already sleep with my eyes and ears covered (I read somewhere that sleeping in a very dark room can help with ovulatory problems, is this true? Am I making up crazytalk?) and as much as I love sleep, I can’t seem to get enough of it at night. I’m hesitant to rely on Ambien too much, but other sleeping pills seem to leave me hungover.

I’m also trying to deal w/ PCOS/IR problems. I currently take 2000 mg of Met, but am not so good at keeping things low-glycemic (it’s kind of hard when you’re a vegan). I’m really trying to cut out breads and sugar, but MAN, cut a girl some slack! I suppose I’ll just have to get even more creative in the kitchen.

And then there’s the exercise. I’m hoping my current plans for motivation will work out, but, I bailed on my first workout…Can’t be good, right?

Anyway, I’m trying, and having a good night’s sleep under the belt is certainly helpful in the motivation category.  How do the rest of you keep motivated?

4 Comments

Filed under success

4 responses to “Sleep is the Jesus of my life…

  1. Low Fat Lady

    It sounds like you are doing a really good job in just trying to work on all of those areas. I love sleeping and can usually sleep at least 8 hours a night. Eating is harder though. I can’t eat a lot of different foods because of stomach issues, but I enjoy cooking and experimenting with new foods. Keep up the good work.

  2. Sleep is the BEST. And an uninterrupted sleep like that is bloody amazing!!! I’m a very fussy sleeper (need it totally dark, totally quiet, etc.) so I can appreciate how you feel!!

    The low-glycemic stuff can be hard. Being PCOS/IR too, I struggle daily. While I’m not vegan – I still could happily live on carbs alone and struggle with the idea of cutting them back. Not cutting them out – just back. But I know I need to.

    And you didn’t bail on your first workout — you did it on Sunday instead…which is more to be said for me (I’ll tell you more later!)

    These all sound like positive changes …keep it up — and know you’ve got support over here!!

  3. Hmmm… I wonder if trying to pick your protein first (something you’ll need to do in pregnancy, anyway, when carbs alone just don’t cut it) would help and kind of centering your meals around that. What about hiring a personal trainer for a few workouts, just to get you hooked on the lovely post-exercise feeling? I’m all for getting support when making major life changes. It’s often two steps forward, one back when you’re shifting to some new habits.

    There has to be a low-glycemic vegan book out there, or a blog or website, with tips and (hopefully) not disgusting sounding recipes…

  4. @shinejil you’re probably right around the protein issue. I also need to remind myself that I DO have protein options. I’ve thought of hiring a personal trainer before, but I always talk myself out of it. Maybe I need to talk myself IN to it.
    @fertilitychick i. love. ambien. like. i. love. the. baby. jesus…a. LOT. i’m scared i won’t sleep w/o her, but my body has really been adjusting well to her.

Leave a Reply

